Wednesday, October 29, 2008

World Series Droughts: Another One Bites The Dust

Tonight, just for fun, I did a quick rundown of the most consecutive seasons that each of MLB's thirty teams has gone without a World Series victory. A few thoughts:

  • Of the six expansion teams that have been introduced since 1977, five have appeared in a World Series, winning five and losing two. The Mariners are the odd team out, failing to get past the American League Championship Series in three tries (1995, 2000-01).
  • My grandfather died the day before the Cincinnati Reds won the 1990 World Series, the last in franchise history. He was born eight months after the Chicago Cubs won the 1908 World Series, the last in franchise history.
  • The San Francisco Giants, owners of the third longest Series drought, have not won a World Series since moving to California, though they have played in the Fall Classic three times (1962, 1989, 2002). The Los Angeles Dodgers, who also moved west in 1958, have five titles in that time frame.
  • Five of the last seven World Series winners have ended droughts of 24 years or more (2002 Angels, 2004 Red Sox, 2005 White Sox, 2006 Cardinals, 2008 Phillies); I don't think that's going to happen next year...which means the Cubs will probably defeat the Indians to become the 2009 champions.
  • As a Red Sox fan, I feel it necessary to caution Phillies fans: do not allow this title to turn you into an entire fan base of assholes with an overblown sense of entitlement. Don't let it happen.
  • The last time the Phillies won a World Series, I had just turned a year old.
  • Ten teams have not won a World Series in my lifetime: Chicago Cubs, Cleveland, San Francisco, Texas, Houston, Montreal/Washington, San Diego, Milwaukee, Seattle, and Pittsburgh.
Team Last World Series Win Drought
Chicago Cubs 1908 100
Cleveland Indians 1948 60
San Francisco Giants 1954 54
Texas Rangers NA 47
Houston Astros NA 46
Washington Nationals NA 39
San Diego Padres NA 39
Milwaukee Brewers NA 39
Seattle Mariners NA 31
Pittsburgh Pirates 1979 29
Baltimore Orioles 1983 25
Detroit Tigers 1984 24
Kansas City Royals 1985 23
New York Mets 1986 22
Los Angeles Dodgers 1988 20
Oakland Athletics 1989 19
Cincinnati Reds 1990 18
Minnesota Twins 1991 17
Toronto Blue Jays 1993 15
Colorado Rockies NA 15
Atlanta Braves 1995 13
Tampa Bay Rays NA 10
New York Yankees 2000 8
Arizona Diamondbacks 2001 7
Los Angeles Angels 2002 6
Florida Marlins 2003 5
Chicago White Sox 2005 3
St. Louis Cardinals 2006 2
Boston Red Sox 2007 1
Philadelphia Phillies 2008 0

1 Comment:

Sam said...

This is REALLY good info!

Thanks for the reminder about the Rangers. =(

Looks like you've got lots of good stuff on your site.